an update from Theresa….project officer for PTTPT and facilitator of the Penguin Sustainable Living Centre

Hello Friends.

I feel busy! I’m feeling as if I missed out on the ‘down time’ that winter is supposed to deliver, and I would hazard a guess that many of you have had a pretty hectic time trying to fit your lives into the short days. And suddenly I’m trying to get the orchard cleaned up for the onset of coddling moth season, and throwing seeds in the ground in the moments of light between getting home and feeding the ungrateful dog.  My lover is far away, has been for six weeks, and it’s times like these that fill me with admiration for those of you who are doing it alone all the time – let alone the single parents amongst you! I salute you! I had a friend visiting from Melbourne over the weekend, and I was musing upon the ethics of making someone help me dig my broad bean patch when they won’t get to eat the beans.

My visiting friend and I spent the weekend working in Launceston for the arts conference, Junction 2010. It was a pretty special event – I was serenaded by leather horns while waiting at traffic lights, had a dramatic dance floor adventure with a lanky gentlemen in a waist coat, had a letter written for me in a cafe by a striking young woman with a beret and a typewriter, and everywhere saw knitting, crochet, sculpture and painted people. The letter in the cafe, in fact, was to Peter Cundall, inviting him to our 2011 festival, and to my awed surprise, he called me the next day! Too busy to come to the festival, he nevertheless offered us some publicity on his show. I was so taken aback, I don’t think I acquitted myself very well. But you can bet I’ll be dropping that name now (“oh you know, when Peter Cundall called me the other day, he said…”)

Graeme Stevenson, a treasured link between the old and new, has been awarded a lifetime achievement award from the Organic Federation of Australia.  Congratulations Graeme, we’re proud to know you.

Other garden things this week: The Green Jobs Fund Crew have been making beautiful, beautiful garden beds at the Penguin Centre, as well as preparing and planting beds at Devonport and Oakleigh House for Produce to the People. We’re planting our first rounds of root vegetables, carrots, potatoes, radishes, swedes, parsnips, turnips and beetroot. We’re also starting peas. The crew are also still turning the compost every week, which is paying off wonderfully. You can plant greens – silverbeet, spinach, cabbage can start indoors, and I like to spread parsley around where I can – when I think of parsley, I think clean, filtered thoughts.

Steve Solomon is due here on Saturday morning, to give us all some direction and inspiration for the rapidly approaching busy spring season. And festival planning is beginning, so please step forward if you’d like to contribute.

Remember to practise contentment and act on your principles,

Very kind regards,

Theresa

Leave a Reply

